Last Updated: Jan 7, 2015
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Contains information on more than 35,000 slave voyages involving the forcible transport of more than 12 million Africans to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. Offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
- Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery (New York Historical Society)
Comprises fourteen significant collections from the NYHS's extensive manuscript holdings on slavery. They consist of diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions. Some of the highlights are the records of the New York Manumission Society and the African Free School, the diaries and correspondence of English abolitionists Granville Sharp and John Clarkson, the papers of the Boston anti-slavery activist Lysander Spooner, the records of the Massachusetts Anti-Slavery Society, the draft of Charles Sumner’s famous speech The Anti-Slavery Enterprise, and an account book kept by the slave trading firm Bolton, Dickens & Co.
- Legacies of British Slave Ownership (University College - London)
Traces the impact of slave-ownership on the formation of modern Britain and the significance of British Caribbean slave-ownership 1763-1833.
- Digital Library on American Slavery
Mounted by the University of North Carolina at Greensboro in collaboration with the Race and Slavery Petitions Project, this database provides a searchable index to the "Race, Slavery and Free Blacks" microform set, which is available at the Brown University Library.
- The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas (University of Virginia)
The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery.
- Digital Archeological Archive of Comparative Slavery
The Digital Archaeological Archive of Comparative Slavery is a Web-based initiative designed to foster inter-site, comparative archaeological research on slavery throughout the Chesapeake, the Carolinas, and the Caribbean. Our goal is to help scholars from different disciplines use archaeological evidence to advance our historical understanding of the slave-based society that evolved in the Atlantic World during the colonial and ante-bellum periods. Analyze the lives of enslaved Africans and their descendants at unprecedented levels of detail.
- Records that pertain to American Slavery and the International Slave Trade (National Archives)
- The Missing Chapter:Untold Stories of the African American Presence in the Mid-Hudson Valley
A project of Hudson River Valley Heritage, Historic Huguenot Street and the Southeastern New York Library Resources Council
- Slavery in New York
Online version of a major exhibition on slavery in New York City, mounted by the New-York Historical Society in 2005.
- International Slavery Museum (Liverpool, UK)
Opened August 2007, the ISM is the only museum of its kind to look at aspects of historical and contemporary slavery and serves as an international hub for resources on human rights issues.
- Captive Passage
A digital resource on the Transatlantic slave trade and its importance for the making of America. From the Mariner's Museum (Newport News, Virginia), in cooperation with the South Side Seaport Museum (New York City) and the National Museums & Galleries on Merseyside (Liverpool, UK).
- Slavery and Justice: Selections from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University
- Slave Narratives (Museum of the African Diaspora)
Note: Introduction requires Adobe Flash to display
- Sugar and the Visual Imagination in the Atlantic World, 1600-1860 (John Carter Brown Library)
Includes discussion of the toll of sugar production on the lives of the enslaved Africans forced to work the cane fields and sugar mills of the Caribbean basin.
- From Africa to Medford: The Untold Story (Medford Historical Society)
A local community in Massachusetts recognizes its historical links to slavery and the slave trade
- Fortune's Story (Mattatuck Museum)
Online exhibit that reconstructs the life of Fortune, a slave living in 18th-century Waterbury, Connecticut, from his skeleton and other evidence.